About Us

The Texas House LGBTQ Caucus is a nonpartisan official legislative caucus of the Texas House of Representatives dedicated to harnessing our collective power to defend the rights of LGBTQIA+ Texans and to achieve social justice and equity in our state.

The Texas House LGBTQ Caucus was founded by five openly LGBTQIA+ women in the Texas House in 2019 after the number of openly LGBTQIA+ legislators in Texas more than doubled in the 2018 General Election. The five founders included Representative Mary Gonzalez (HD-75, Clint), Representative Jessica Gonzalez (HD-104, Dallas), Representative Julie Johnson (HD-115, Farmers Branch), Representative Celia Israel (HD-50, Austin), & Representative Erin Zwiener (HD-45, Driftwood). Since its founding, the Caucus has grown to include over forty LGBTQIA+ and ally members committed to accomplishing full-lived equality for all Texans.

What We Do

The Texas House LGBTQ Caucus functions as a forum to provide Texas legislators with a deeper understanding of the issues impacting LGBTQIA+ people in Texas, increasing awareness and empowering our members to best represent Texans’ diverse voices. Since the 86th Texas Legislative Session, the Caucus has fought hundreds of bills targeting LGBTQIA+ Texans while advancing critical legislation aimed at fulfilling Texas’ constitutional promise of equal rights for all. We also provide vital educational programming and work diligently to defend our communities against ongoing political attacks outside of the Texas Legislature.